Listings




History and Heritage


Blackboy Hill Commemorative Site

Blackboy Hill training camp received the first influx of volunteers on 17 Aug 1914. Eventually over 32,000 men trained here before heading to war.  The monument features a series of arches positioned to face the setting on 24 April.

Blackboy Hill Commemorative Site


Heritage Walk Series

Uncover the history of the villages that developed along the former Eastern Railway with these short walks. There are currently four walks in the series; Mundaring, Darlington, Glen Forrest and Parkerville. View here

Heritage Walk Series


Mundaring and Hills District Museum

The Mundaring District Museum is co-located with the Mundaring Visitor Centre in the old school building. A permanent display about people, places and events of historical interest in the Shire are on display. 

Mundaring and Hills District Museum


Mundaring Weir

Mundaring Weir was constructed between 1898 and 1903 to deliver water 560km from Mundaring to Kalgoorlie. It is recognised as an international historic civil engineering landmark.

Mundaring Weir


No 1 Pump Station (museum)

The No.1 Pump Station stands at the foot of Mundaring Weir and provides an opportunity to explore one of Australia's most significant engineering feats that has continued to supply water to the Goldfields since 1903.

No 1 Pump Station (museum)


Swan View Tunnel

​Built in 1895, Swan View Tunnel was the first railway tunnel constructed in West Australia. From here you can access the Railway  Reserves Heritage Trail to retrace 59km of the former Eastern Railway which once linked Fremantle to York.

Swan View Tunnel


The History of the Sunday Session

A guide to the history of the local hotels and taverns and the development of the 'Sunday Session'. Visit these charming venues and enjoy finding out about the history of the area. Download trail here.

The History of the Sunday Session